666 ABC Internship

Standard

Day One

Orientation: A jam packed day of information and feeling quite over whelmed by it all.

I arrived at 9’o clock on the dot at the ABC head quarters on Northbourne Avenue for my first day of ‘real world journalism’. After the usual safety checks and general induction training it was time to sit in on my first ever morning radio program.

I sat alongside producer, Lynne Minion and studied carefully how one does produce a radio program. The team work between the producer and the presenter is infinite. It’s the producer’s job to make sure everything goes smoothly and calmly for the presenter.

In the afternoon I sat in on the afternoon radio program and with delight noticed that not all radio programs are run the same way. There is room to be flexible. I assume this is because not everyone works in the exact same way.

Other than watching programs go to air I was showed how to fill in time between programs by uploading stories to the 666 ABC Radio website and also tried my hand at editing a promo for a program in Netia.

Leave a Reply

